The Hill Country Community Band was formed in 1990 as the Wimberley Community Band.  Due to the rapid growth and expansion of the membership, the band’s name was changed to reflect the diverse membership from all over the central Texas area.

Our members range in age from 15 to 80+. Our concert season is year ’round. We begin rehearsals in mid-August and go through the Fourth of July. At present, we rehearse on Tuesday evenings from 7pm to 8:30pm at First Baptist Church on Winters Mill Parkway in Wimberley. Please feel free to stop in and listen.

We are always interested in recruiting new members.  If you play or have played a wind or percussion instrument in high school band, you are eligible! Click here to complete the contact form and an officer of the band will contact you shortly.

Our Director

The band is led by Dr. Manuel Arambula, who is a graduate of the University of Texas – Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV) with bachelor’s and master’s degrees in saxophone performance, and a graduate of Texas Tech University with master’s and doctoral degrees in instrumental conducting. He has taught band and orchestra students in the Rio Grande Valley, San Antonio, Lubbock, Los Angeles, Texas Tech University and is now the orchestra director at Canyon High School in New Braunfels, Texas.


The Hill Country Community Band is governed by a board of directors. Officers are elected to a two year term by the band membership. Our officers for this session are:

President – Pat Ricks
Vice President – Luellyn Dollard
Secretary – Nathan Deans
Treasurer – Donna Atkins
Librarian – Neal Mallard

Our membership consists of the following musicians:


Luellyn Dollard, Shirley Fraser, Lisa Gross, Deanna Harrison∗, Suzanna Rickman, Pat Ricks, Jackie Truitt


Joanna Millinor


Corrina Alvey, Donna Atkins, Amy Austria, Tess Hasbrouck, Claire Marchant, Molly Michalsky, Ana Oostwouder, Jeremy Sustaita, Laura Tanner∗

alto/bass clarinet

Dan Prorok, Karen Walters

alto saxophone

Craig Barnstable, Eduardo “Eddie” Esparza∗, John Greer

tenor saxophone

Candy Bowman

baritone saxophone

Tyler Hastings, Lucinda Kapral


Mary Beth Alsdorf, Brian Duchscher∗, Jennifer Godwin, Tom Hastings, Randy Heaton, John Logan, Doug Martin, Steve Merritt, Penny Zamora

french horn

Mark Horne∗, Adam Weiss, Michelle Winn


Joe Dollard, Emmy Vandermeer, Stacy Staman


Phillip Atkins, Susie Cranford, Jonathan Mudge, Zack Nobles, Jenna Smith

bass trombone

Jeff Haynes, Neal Mallard*


Tom McCormick


Valerie Chandler, Nathan Deans, Dan Stephens∗, Michael Thielen, Sheila Wolf

*denotes Section Leader